top of page

Why I still feel inferior about what I do

Today I was going through "free things to do in Charleston" online (to get ideas for places to shoot), and I came across the Charleston Art Walk. I decided to look into the event to see if there were booths for rent, so I could get more exposure. After I found out that it is just galleries at the French Quarter, I decided to look into submitting to some. I looked at several galleries, and I just couldn't even bring myself to try to submit. I kept looking at the artists they sponsor and comparing their work to mine. Why would my work be good enough to be next to their's? They are professional. I don't think I am even close to being considered "professional."

This is not the only time I have considered submitting to a gallery. Earlier this year I thought about it, and ultimately decided to seek help. I asked Brooke Shaden (my FAVORITE photographer) a question about galleries, which was put in one of her promoting passion video blogs (see here). If you don't want to watch the video, here's my question and her answer:

"When did you decide that you should submit to galleries? I have been thinking about submitting for a while, but I’m scared and I’m not sure if my work is “worthy”. Did you feel the same way or am I just doubting my work?"
A: I still feel that way ALL THE TIME! There is not a gallery that I’ve submitted to where I haven’t felt inadequate in some way. The mere feeling of inadequacy, however, should not be what is stopping you from submitting. In my opinion, an artist should have a solid body of work before submitting. I believe that should be at least 10 images that you feel are strong and can back up with good information either about how it was created, why you created it, and so on. Further, you should have a website, even if it is a template or blog, that cohesively shows your work in an easy-to-digest manner. The last tip I have is to understand, at least roughly, how you want to size, edition and price your work. From there, you’re good to submit as long as you are smart about who you are submitting to!

I almost cried because I was so happy that she answered my question! She really helped me understand what I need to do in order to reach my goal. I felt that I could really work towards this goal! She made me feel inspired. But now, months later than when I asked this question, I am back to stage one. I love my work, and I think that I have grown A LOT in the past year, but I just can't get myself to submit. But right now, as I am writing this post, I am making a promise to myself. I am going to continue doing what I love, growing as an artist, and working towards my goal. I refuse to give up, and I encourage all of you to continue working towards your ultimate goal, whatever it may be!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page