top of page

2014

This year has been pretty eventful. So many great things happened! I began taking photos more, I won an award for my photography, I went on a cruise and to Disney World twice, I got married, and I moved. Needless to say that it's been a crazy year! So for today's blog post, I'm writing about my favorite moments from 2014 (with photos). Since I cant rank which moments were best (just because I have a hard time deciding), I will go by month.

My best moments from 2014

Mississippi Scholastic Press Association Awards
IMG_1519.JPG

Left to right- Me, Autumn, Savannah, and Sarah

I had a lot of fun in Oxford, MS for our yearbook awards. We walked away with Best cover (of course it won, it was AMAZING! *hint hint Gabbi*), first place in candid photography, best overall yearbook, and many other awards. Other than our winnings, we had a lot of fun, too.

Disney World (Part 1)
wdw201414076533734_6980379522_18.jpeg

When Mark and I went to Disney in May, it was one of my favorite trips to Disney. Not only did we get to see the beautiful Flower and Garden Festival at my favorite park, Epcot, but we also experienced light crowds while we were there. On our last day of the trip though, we got to the park at 6 am for the 24 hour Disney-Side party. When we got to the Magic Kingdom, we were able to ride the Seven Dwarfs Mine Train before it's official opening date. So, now I can say I rode it before it was open. :)

Disney World (Part 2)
IMG_5494.JPG

Yes, I went to Disney again a month after I got back from Disney. Yes, you can say I am a Disney addict. But, this trip was really fun. I got to spend my birthday in the parks, and spend some more time with Mark before he left for basic training. One of my favorite moments from this trip was when Mark and I were running late for our Splash Mountain fast pass (right around the time when the electric parade starts). We got tired of being stuck behind people walking slow while we were in a hurry, so we got in the middle of the parade block off and ran. When we got closer to Splash Mountain, everyone waiting on the parade was clapping for us. It made me feel like we were finishing a marathon ;-) (that will never happen! Haha!)

Cruise!!

IMG_6856.JPG
IMG_6433.JPG

If you know me, I HATE boats. I have always been too scared to go on one. But, somehow my family convinced me to go on a cruise. Okay, so now I know that boats arent that bad. Except when there's rough seas. Anyways, the cruise we went on went to Cozumel, Belize, and Roatan. Roatan was BY FAR my favorite. We visited a little island called Little French Key (if you're going to Roatan, I highly suggest that you do this excursion!) and it was extremely beautiful. I even held a monkey! Little French Key was definietly the highlight of the trip.

Basic Traning Graduation
10378916_10202213508013696_7339073090608306143_n.jpg
10552509_10202218992830813_8102097763146523682_n.jpg

I have no words to describe how I felt during this time. It was extremely hard to not see Mark for about 2 months. I did get to hear from him a lot though, and I got mail from him every Thursday. When I arrived in Chicago the day before graduation, I was sick with a cold. This usually happens to me after a flight anyways, but I was starting to get sick before also. I took medicine all day so I could feel my best on graduation day. I was so excited that I could barely sleep! I woke up at 5 am so that we could arrive to the building at 6. We could've arrived later, but we wanted good seats. Once inside and in our seats, we caught an early glimpse of Mark before graduation started. I was freezing (if you've been to the Navy graduation you know how cold it is!) and feeling sick, but I was happy that I was there. Graduation started at 8 (or 9, I was too cold to pay attention) and ended around 10. When the announcer called liberty, I was eager to find my sailor (he would correct me, "fireman") in the crowd. We waited a few minutes to find him, but when the floor cleared I saw him waiting in the back. I ran to him (not meaning to, haha) and jumped into his arms. I'm pretty sure it was against the rules to do that, but ces't la vie. After we reunited, we spent all day together. I even got to see him before my flight the next day.

Our Wedding
wedding lr (6 of 20).jpg
wedding lr (12 of 20).jpg

The day after graduation, I left for Charleston. We drove 10 hours to get there on time, so I could spend Mark's last day of liberty with him. At the time, when I drove up there, almost no people knew we were getting married. We intended to keep it that way. So, I spent the few days before our wedding exploring my new home and checking out the places where our wedding would be. I was excited, but I wished Mark could see the places before our wedding. Since I planned the wedding while he was gone, he really didn't know anything about it. He only knew where to show up and at what time, haha. But on the day of our wedding, I think we were both happy with where I picked. We got married at the French Quarter Inn (which is AMAZING, and you should definietly stay here if visiting) and the reception was held at 82 Queen (which is also amazing, we eat brunch here all the time). I wouldn't have had our wedding any other way.

Overall, every part of this year has been amazing. I love living in Charleston, and I get to spend most days doing what I love. Hopefully 2015 brings happiness and creativity, because I plan on making it great!

Thank you for your support over the years, and I hope that I can continue to create for years to come.

Happy New Year!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page