top of page

The Three-Year-Wait

"The Last Song"

I'm a little late here, but Happy 2015! I have been so excited to take my first photo of the year, and it finally happened! Today I finished editing a photo that I have been planning for around three or four years. This photo has a lot of meaning behind it, so I'll explain it with a quote from the book, "Night."

“It was pitch dark. I could hear only the violin, and it was as though Juliek's soul were the bow. He was playing his life. The whole of his life was gliding on the strings--his last hopes, his charred past, his extinguished future. He played as he would never play again...When I awoke, in the daylight, I could see Juliek, opposite me, slumped over, dead. Near him lay his violin, smashed, trampled, a strange overwhelming little corpse.”
-Elie Wiesel, "Night"

This whole book had me in tears. When I reached this part in the book, all I could picture in my mind was this photo. I was so inspired by his words and this experience that I knew that I needed to take this photo. So, years later, here is my picture. I am so happy that my first photo for 2015 is one that I have wanted to take for a very long time.

I wanted there to be light around my character. I wanted to put it in a very literal sense that this was the last song that they would ever play. I wanted to be able to feel the same way about this photo that I felt reading the book. I think I achieved what I was going for.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page