top of page

When inspired by Fashion

Hello everyone! Today is the second-to-last day of January, and I think this month was a great start to 2015. I have had more ideas than ever, and I plan to shoot all of them! Anyways, the photo above is titled "Transformation of the Fowl." Before anyone comes to the conclusion that I just copied and pasted bird's wings on my chest, let me explain. This photo was heavily inspired by the late Alexander McQueen's Spring/Summer 2008 collection. I am inspired by all of his collections, but this one just stuck with me.

I really love his style. Everything was about a story, and he executed it perfectly. When I saw this image, I pictured my own take on it. I wanted to make a character who looked like she was transforming into a bird. Hence the title, "Transformation of the Fowl." It took a while to get the wings to look like they do, I had to ask numerous people what they thought. I feel like the photo looks exactly the way I pictured it.

Back to Alexander McQueen. He was a true artist. A couple images I have planned are inspired by some of his other collections. If you are not familiar with his beautiful work, please check him out by watching one of my favorite moments from his shows, here.

I'll finish this post with a piece of inspiration from McQueen himself:

"I think there is beauty in everything. What 'normal' people would perceive as ugly, I usually see something of beauty in it."
- Lee Alexander McQueen

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page